top of page

A Step In The Right Direction.... I Hope...

I have spent the last few weeks learning and absorbing so much about the photography business.  I took a two day course on the business of portait photography, several mini sessions on specific types of portait photography and of course the three day expo with many sessions, guest speakers and giveaways.  And just yesterday, I took a tour of a local artists haven.

The Business Intensive was just that, INTENSIVE!  We spent four hours on taxes another two on pricing schemes.  Then an entire day on sales and marketing.  One of the first things we want over is who are you in your Photography Business?  Are you the Passionate Creative?  Or are you the Business Warrior?  The purpose of the course is to make sure you walk out with a little bit more of what you are not.  

For me, I definitely fall in the Passionate Creative.  So, I know I either need to partner with a Business Warrior or become one myself.  I have definitely gotten more business-like with just the plain fact that I am now more aware of different things that go into running a successful portait photography business.  I had never even heard of "cost of sales" before this class.  I mean, I knew the definition and idea behind it, but I never knew the term.  So up until now, I have been making sure my income covered my expenses.  That's it.  I haven't really paid myself.  So I need to up my game.

I'm looking into several options.  My main barrier at the moment.  Finances.  I need to get more portait jobs rolling through the door.  But in order to do that I need to get the word out that I am here and taking new clients!  In the few days since I have been back from the conference, I have found a place to meet with clients and do my shoots.  And it's local, so there won't be any parking barrier or overhead costs.  It's a place I rent on a case by case basis.  Which is perfect for the stage I am at right now.  Eventually, I would like to move into an office space of my own.  But for now, this works great.

Now, I need to get the word out about me.  But I want to use some new work and ideas to do it.  So now I am looking for some TFP Models.  That's "Trade for Print".  I have a few ideas of some shoots I want to get in within the next month. If you know anyone please send them my way.  I'm am looking to do a few family portraits too.

I am just a few months away from my 1year anniversary as a sole proprietor.  I want to finish this first year on a high note.  Iam amped up and ready for the new year.

Only time will tell.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page