top of page

A handheld device?? On the road with Cystic Fibrosis...

So as some of you may know I live with Cystic Fibrosis. I was diagnosed when I was three and I average about 88% lung function.  And of course you'll also know that my chosen profession is as a photographer. But as a photographer I'm on the road quite a bit. My average commute is about one and a half hours. I can go anywhere from Harrisburg to Richmond from Easton to Washington DC all in one week. Example, last week I started out in Dumfries, Virginia Tuesday I went to Reston Virginia and then down to Glenn Allen which is nearly to Richmond. Wednesday, I got to come home stopped into the office to drop off some jobs and then slacked off for the rest of the day. Thursday it was back to Reston and Friday I was in Harrisburg. Saturday I lead a photo tour through the Avalon entrance entrance of Patapsco State Valley Park and Saturday night I had a photo booth job in downtown Baltimore. That pretty much blew me out for the rest of the day for Sunday and Monday here I am back in Virginia again. So basically I drive a lot. What does this have to do with CF?? Simple, I pretty much have to do all of my treatments on the road on the way to and from my jobs. I have my acapella, my newly-acquired nebulizer and all of my oral medications in my van ready to go. But as I was heading back from Harrisburg last Friday a thought occurred to me is my nebulizer a handheld electronic device? 

I mean it is hand held, holding it with your jaw for 25 minutes straight doesn't really work, and it is an electronic device. But is it really the intent of the law to prevent me from doing my medications on the road? What do you think? I mean I know people do the flutter or acapella on the road, and I know some heavy even gotten pulled over for it, but what about the nebulizer? I suppose it could still be mistaken for some kind of pipe it is producing smoke like stuff. So I know I could get pulled over because it looks like that but my concern is more of is it a handheld electronic device that is prohibited by law in pretty much every state I drive into.

I'd like to hear everyone's opinion on this. Even if I did get pulled over and they did write me up for it to you think a judge would go with it? Or do you think they give me a pass? Was it really the intent of the law? Bottom line, is it a handheld electronic device?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page