top of page

Short Hike Through the Refuge

My mission today is a short hike through the Patuxent Wildlife Refuge. I started out near the National Wildlife Visitor's Center on the South Tract. I grab a trail map, sign in with the front desk, something all solo hikers

should do, and head on my way. Not too far into my hike I cross paths with the tram that runs around a non-hiking area, I enjoy a great conversation with the Tram driver, who encourages me to take the Tram ride, but that's not my mission today. She tells me about some of the wildlife I can expect to see on my hike. Just across the boardwalk I come to the first floating bridge. This is the first time I have seen something like this, but it seems to be steady enough. I cross it no problem and end up on a peninsula in the middle of Cash Lake. About halfway across the peninsula, I come across a little blue butterfly that has stopped his day to model for me. I must have gotten 50 or so pictures of him. Just Perfect!

Just a few steps past my model, I found a fairy community! Or at least that's what this grove of mushrooms reminded me of. I can't remember the name of the movie but it was about a group of fairies whose home was being destroyed by loggers. That's what this grove brought to mind. I can just imagine the little faeries living amoung the mushrooms and fallen trees. I wish I had the artistic skills to draw what I can see in my mind for this place.

And off to find the next eye catching spot. I have to say that this is one of the most peaceful trails I have been on. It's not overcrowded, even on a Sunday and those people that are out here are incredibly polite. Everyone smiles and greets each other. There are no bikes allowed off the paved trails, which means none on Cash Lake Trail. It makes it so much easier to stop to get some pictures when you are not worried about being plowed over by a cyclist. And this lake is a lot bigger than you think. When passing the fishing area there is a water line marking. It currently sits at 106'. This lake is huge. No wonder its such a good fishing spot.

Along the trail there are several viewing areas that branch off. About three quarters of the way around the 1.5 mile hike I stop at one and that is where I see my first glimpse of wildlife. I have heard it all around me the entire way. But I finally am able to get some pictures of it. It seems to be a great place for bird watching. I can see Geese, A red bird and some black ones swooping down and stealing some kids bait when he isn't looking. Overall, I think this is a good place for beginners to the DSLR world to practice using Manual Mode. It has so many different types of environment and lighting conditions. Forest, Marsh, grasslands... It's got it all. The hike itself I would rate as Easy. It's fairly flat until the last half mile. Then you get into more elevation. Though you could always do the trail backwards and do the harder terrain first then sail your way across the rest. If you would like to have a guided photo tour of Cash Lake Trail let me know. I don't know much about what we are seeing, but I know how to take pictures of it. Need help using Manual Mode? I'm your girl. Send me a message on my contact page or post in the comments below. See you on my next mission!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page